Updates from August, 2012 Toggle Comment Threads | Keyboard Shortcuts

  • tbpauly 5:32 pm on August 31, 2012 Permalink | Reply
    Tags: ,   

    NFL 1979, AFC Divisionals: Pittsburgh 20-7 over New England 

    The defending world champs live to fight one more week…

    (More …)

  • tbpauly 5:29 pm on August 31, 2012 Permalink | Reply
    Tags: ,   

    NFL 1979, AFC Divisionals: San Diego 23-21 over Miami 

    The Chargers will host the New England-Pittsburgh winner for the AFC crown.

    (More …)

  • tbpauly 5:15 pm on August 31, 2012 Permalink | Reply
    Tags: ,   

    NFL 1979, NFC Divisionals: Philadelphia 31-14 over New Orleans 

    The Eagles get a 3rd game with Dallas at home to determine who goes to the Super Bowl. New Orleans falls to an overall 11-6.

    (More …)

  • tbpauly 5:12 pm on August 31, 2012 Permalink | Reply
    Tags: ,   

    NFL 1979, NFC Divisionals: Dallas 20-7 over Chicago 

    Disappointing one-and-done for Bears fans…while Dallas will be on the road against the Philly-New Orleans winner for the NFC Championship.

    (More …)

  • tbpauly 4:42 pm on August 30, 2012 Permalink | Reply
    Tags: ,   

    NFL 1979, AFC Wild Card Game: Miami 34-16 over Denver 

    Miami moves on to battle undefeated San Diego next week in the divisional round. Denver falls to 10-7 overall.

    (More …)

  • tbpauly 4:39 pm on August 30, 2012 Permalink | Reply
    Tags: ,   

    NFL 1979, NFC Wild Card Game: Dallas 17-14 over Tampa Bay 

    Dallas advances to face Chicago in the next playoff round. Tampa Bay finishes 9-8, counting their playoff loss.

    (More …)

  • tbpauly 5:56 pm on August 29, 2012 Permalink | Reply  

    NFL 1979: Playoff Brackets 

    Remember, there was a rule prior to the playoffs expanding that teams from the same division couldn’t play each other in the Divisional Playoff Round, but could play each other in any other round.

    The NFL 1979 playoff brackets prior to the Wild Card games..

  • tbpauly 3:37 pm on August 29, 2012 Permalink | Reply
    Tags: regular season awards   

    NFL 1979: Regular Season Awards 

    Don Coryell won the Coach Of The Year award, taking his Chargers to a 16-0 regular season mark.

     League Awards
     Offense-1st Team        Offense-2nd Team         Offense-3rd Team
     RB Montgomery Phi       RB Campbell Hou          RB Tyler LA             
     RB Payton Chi           RB Hofer SF              RB Muncie NO            
     WR Chandler NO          WR Largent Sea           WR Branch Oak           
     WR Stallworth Pit       WR Jefferson SD          WR Morgan NE            
     QB Fouts SD             QB Manning NO            QB Staubach Dal         
     TE Coffman GB           TE Chester Oak           TE Krepfle Phi          
      C Webster Pit           C Van Note Atl           C DeLeone Cle          
      G Hannah NE             G DeLamielle Buf         G Young StL            
      G Scott, H. Dal         G White SD               G Rasmussen NYJ        
      T Powell NYJ            T Donovan Dal            T Washington SD        
      T Gray Hou              T Walters Phi            T Sisemore Phi         
     Defense-1st Team        Defense-2nd Team         Defense-3rd Team
     DT Greene Pit           DT White, R. Dal         DT Johnson, C Phi       
     DT Baumhower Mia        DT Johnson,G. SD         DT Brooks, La LA        
     DE Selmon, L. TB        DE Greenwood Pit         DE Dean SD              
     DE Hairston Phi         DE Youngblood LA         DE Still KC             
    ILB Lambert Pit         ILB Carson NYG           ILB Gradishar Den        
    OLB Brazile Hou         OLB Youngblood LA        OLB Blair Min            
    OLB Ham Pit             OLB Lewis, D. TB         OLB Swenson Den          
     CB Parrish Was          CB Haynes,Mi. NE         CB Blount Pit           
     CB Wright Den           CB Green, G. KC          CB Williams,M SD        
      S Reinfeldt Hou         S Fencik Chi             S Darden Cle           
      S Shell, D. Pit         S Myers, T. NO           S Barbaro KC           
     Special-1st Team        Special-2nd Team         Special-3rd Team
      K Moseley Was           K Franklin Phi           K Septien Dal          
      P Grupp KC              P Jennings NYG           P McInally Cin         
    Ret Edwards, J Min      Ret Matthews Oak         Ret Harper NYJ           
      Offensive MVP          Defensive MVP            Coach of the Year
      1 Montgomery Phi        1 Parrish Was            1 Don Coryell SD 
      2 Fouts SD              2 Selmon, L. TB          2 Chuck Noll Pit
      3 Payton Chi            3 Reinfeldt Hou          3 Dick Nolan NO 
      4 Campbell Hou          4 Shell, D. Pit          4 Neil Armstrong Chi
      5 Hofer SF              5 Lambert Pit            5 Dick Vermeil Phi
      6 Manning NO            6 Brazile Hou            6 Tom Landry Dal
      7 Staubach Dal          7 Wright Den             7 Ron Ehrhardt NE 
      8 Tyler LA              8 Ham Pit                8 Don Shula Mia
      9 Chandler NO           9 Fencik Chi             9 Jack Patera Sea
     10 Grogan NE            10 Greene Pit            10 Red Miller Den
     11 Muncie NO            11 Baumhower Mia         11 John McKay TB 
     12 Anderson, StL        12 White, R. Dal         12 Chuck Knox Buf
     13 Zorn Sea             13 Hairston Phi          13 Jack Pardee Was
     14 Hannah NE            14 Haynes,Mi. NE         14 Leeman Bennett Atl
     15 Riggins Was          15 Greenwood Pit         15 Walt Michaels NYJ
     16 Williams,C SD        16 Youngblood LA         16 Bart Starr GB 
     17 Pruitt, M. Cle       17 Green, G. KC          17 Marv Levy KC 
     18 Ferguson Buf         18 Youngblood LA         18 Ted Marchibroda Bal
     19 Stallworth Pit       19 Myers, T. NO          19 Bill Walsh SF 
     20 Washington Bal       20 Darden Cle            20 Homer Rice Cin
  • tbpauly 3:34 pm on August 29, 2012 Permalink | Reply  

    NFL 1979: Final Team Offensive and Defensive Leaders 

    Click here for the team offensive leaders… (PDF File)

    Click here for the team defensive leaders… (PDF File)

  • tbpauly 9:27 pm on August 28, 2012 Permalink | Reply  

    NFL 1979: Final Individual Leaders 

    Drew Pearson took Player Of The Week honors for Week 16.

    Here are the final individual stats:

    (More …)

Compose new post
Next post/Next comment
Previous post/Previous comment
Show/Hide comments
Go to top
Go to login
Show/Hide help
shift + esc