Just Wrote My First Sports Book…

My intro for “Team By Team: The 2012 MLB Season” could easily be used for APBA or Strat-O-Matic when they produce their various cards and disks, I suppose.

Here goes:

The 2012 baseball season is worth remembering.

San Francisco winning a second world title in three years.

Miguel Cabrera winning the first Triple Crown awarded since 1967.

Six no-hitters.

Three perfect games.

One no-hitter thrown by a combination of six pitchers.

Mike Trout’s splendid rookie season with the Angels.

The St. Louis Cardinals making a comeback of the ages against Washington in Game 5 of their NLDS.

This is the book I’ve always wanted to write.

Now, through the marvel of self publishing, I get that chance.

I didn’t take to baseball like I did to the other sports.  My introduction to baseball was the 1978 World Series between the Los Angeles Dodgers and New York Yankees.  Had to say I really didn’t care for it.  Then one day changed everything.  We had just gotten Superstation WGN in Pinellas County, Florida.  The local sportscasters were buzzing about this crazy game in Chicago between the Cubs and Phillies.  That was the day the Philadelphia beat Chicago 23-22 in 10 innings on May 17, 1979.

And I thought all baseball games were like that.

“Team By Team: The 2012 MLB Season” profiles all 30 teams and their respective managers.  I profile 150 players, three hitters and two pitchers on each team.  This book is not meant to be a buffet table for statistical data, although it is discussed in some detail.  It is meant as a quick way to give you the fan a thumbnail sketch of the standouts of Major League Baseball during the past season.

Hopefully the first in a long series of books like it, “Team By Team: The 2012 MLB Season” is available for just 99 cents on Kindle.

