Fistic History: Notes From 1887


Bob Fitzsimmons, Fighter Of The Year for the 2nd straight time in 1887

The year of 1887 has concluded in the PPU, and here are the current champions as 1888 dawned.

Heavyweights: Peter Jackson (12-0, 3 defenses)
Light Heavyweights: Joe Butler (12-0, 3 defenses)
Middleweights: Bob Fitzsimmons (12-0, 3 defenses)
Welterweights: Dick Sandall (13-1, 2 defenses)
Lightweights: Jack McAuliffe (12-0, 3 defenses)
Featherweights: George Seddons (11-3, defeated Dick Hollywood in Nov. 1887)
Bantamweights: Nunc Wallace (13-1, defeated Nunc Wallace in Nov. 1887)
Flyweights: Clancy Wallace* (10-2-2, defeated Raul Cantu* in Nov. 1887)

The awards for 1887 went out to:

Fighter Of The Year: Bob Fitzsimmons (12-0, middleweight champion, 2nd fighter of the year award)
Contender Of The Year: “Nonpareil” Jack Dempsey (15-2, #1 middleweight contender, 2nd contender of the year award)
Prospect Of The Year: Harris Martin (12-0, #2 middleweight contender)
Rookie Of The Year: Tommy Ryan (6-0, welterweight)