Fistic History: Notes From 1892

Back on top: Bob Fitzsimmons won his third Fighter Of The Year title in 1891.

Back on top: Bob Fitzsimmons won his third Fighter Of The Year title in 1891.

Despite a revamped contenders format used in 1892 that allowed 15 contenders a chance to fight for the crown every year, and the possibility of a champ making four defenses a year, the Professional Prizefighters Union continued to be dominated by the middleweight class.


HEAVYWEIGHTS, Peter Jackson (27-0-1, 25 KO’s): Jackson is still the last of the original champions standing.  For the fourth straight year, he faced James Corbett for the title, with Jackson avenging his draw in 1891 with a TKO-12 win in 1892.

LIGHT HEAVYWEIGHTS, Glen Jones* (26-9-3, 17 KO’s): Knocked out Joe Butler in Philadelphia in December of 1892 to win the belt for the first time.

MIDDLEWEIGHTS, Bob Fitzsimmons (27-2, 23 KO’s): Fitzsimmons has won twelve straight bouts, turning back three Jack Dempsey NP challenges in yearly succession.  There’s continued talk of him moving up to Light Heavyweight or Heavyweight from his management team.

WELTERWEIGHTS, Tommy Ryan (23-2-1, 20 KO’s): The welterweight belt keeps bouncing around amongst some skilled pugilists.  Ryan’s the champ a second time after beating Joe Walcott in New York recently, handing the “Barbados Demon” his first defeat.

LIGHTWEIGHTS, Jack McAuliffe (29-1, 23 KO’s): After regaining the Lightweight championship in ’91, the Irish champ KO’ed all four of his opponents this year.

FEATHERWEIGHTS, George Dixon (26-5, 13 KO’s): Dixon is the champion a second time after defeating Tommy White (TKO-11) in Indiana to regain the belt in another division with numerous champions.

BANTAMWEIGHTS, Richard Goodwin (27-6-5, 7 KO’s): Goodwin’s first title shot in five years was a successful one, defeating Chappie Moran in a close fight (MD 15) in Missouri in December for his maiden voyage as the Bantamweight king.

FLYWEIGHTS, Clancy Wallace* (23-5-4, 7 KO’s): Wallace only made three defenses this year do a 12-round draw between contenders Raul Cantu and Robinson Ramos in September that would have given a title shot to the winner.


Fighter Of The Year: Bob Fitzsimmons (second FOTY award in a row, his fourth overall)

Contender Of The Year: Jack Dempsey NP (his fifth COTY trophy, second in a row)

Prospect Of The Year: Pat Killen (#14 heavyweight contender, 32-11-1 with 27 KO victories)

Rookie Of The Year: Harry Peppers (6-0 in the middleweight class)