Tagged: Bob Fitzsimmons Toggle Comment Threads | Keyboard Shortcuts

  • johndoe 7:31 am on February 26, 2013 Permalink | Reply
    Tags: 1892, Bob Fitzsimmons,   

    Fistic History: Notes From 1892 

    Back on top: Bob Fitzsimmons won his third Fighter Of The Year title in 1891.

    Back on top: Bob Fitzsimmons won his third Fighter Of The Year title in 1891.

    Despite a revamped contenders format used in 1892 that allowed 15 contenders a chance to fight for the crown every year, and the possibility of a champ making four defenses a year, the Professional Prizefighters Union continued to be dominated by the middleweight class.


    HEAVYWEIGHTS, Peter Jackson (27-0-1, 25 KO’s): Jackson is still the last of the original champions standing.  For the fourth straight year, he faced James Corbett for the title, with Jackson avenging his draw in 1891 with a TKO-12 win in 1892.

    LIGHT HEAVYWEIGHTS, Glen Jones* (26-9-3, 17 KO’s): Knocked out Joe Butler in Philadelphia in December of 1892 to win the belt for the first time.

    MIDDLEWEIGHTS, Bob Fitzsimmons (27-2, 23 KO’s): Fitzsimmons has won twelve straight bouts, turning back three Jack Dempsey NP challenges in yearly succession.  There’s continued talk of him moving up to Light Heavyweight or Heavyweight from his management team.

    WELTERWEIGHTS, Tommy Ryan (23-2-1, 20 KO’s): The welterweight belt keeps bouncing around amongst some skilled pugilists.  Ryan’s the champ a second time after beating Joe Walcott in New York recently, handing the “Barbados Demon” his first defeat.

    LIGHTWEIGHTS, Jack McAuliffe (29-1, 23 KO’s): After regaining the Lightweight championship in ’91, the Irish champ KO’ed all four of his opponents this year.

    FEATHERWEIGHTS, George Dixon (26-5, 13 KO’s): Dixon is the champion a second time after defeating Tommy White (TKO-11) in Indiana to regain the belt in another division with numerous champions.

    BANTAMWEIGHTS, Richard Goodwin (27-6-5, 7 KO’s): Goodwin’s first title shot in five years was a successful one, defeating Chappie Moran in a close fight (MD 15) in Missouri in December for his maiden voyage as the Bantamweight king.

    FLYWEIGHTS, Clancy Wallace* (23-5-4, 7 KO’s): Wallace only made three defenses this year do a 12-round draw between contenders Raul Cantu and Robinson Ramos in September that would have given a title shot to the winner.


    Fighter Of The Year: Bob Fitzsimmons (second FOTY award in a row, his fourth overall)

    Contender Of The Year: Jack Dempsey NP (his fifth COTY trophy, second in a row)

    Prospect Of The Year: Pat Killen (#14 heavyweight contender, 32-11-1 with 27 KO victories)

    Rookie Of The Year: Harry Peppers (6-0 in the middleweight class)

  • johndoe 11:08 pm on February 20, 2013 Permalink | Reply
    Tags: 1891, Bob Fitzsimmons,   

    Fistic History: Notes From 1891 

    Back on top: Bob Fitzsimmons won his third Fighter Of The Year title in 1891.

    Back on top: Bob Fitzsimmons won his third Fighter Of The Year title in 1891.

    Another year in the books in the PPU, so let’s see who the champions are at the end of 1891, which seemed to be a year dominated by middleweights…


    HEAVYWEIGHTS, Peter Jackson (23-0-1, 21 KO’s): Jackson’s still the only heavyweight champ in PPU history, but his reign may be showing signs of ending.  James J. Corbett held Jackson to a 15-round majority draw in their third championship meeting in November, and Corbett may be line for a fourth shot in 1892.

    LIGHT HEAVYWEIGHTS, Luke Keegan (11-11-3, 8 KO’s): Keegan pulled off one of the great upsets in the early history of PPU by knocking out Joe Choynski in July.

    MIDDLEWEIGHTS, Bob Fitzsimmons (23-2, 20 KO’s): Promoters are salivating at a possible Fitzsimmons-Jackson dream fight somewhere down the road.

    WELTERWEIGHTS, Paddy Duffy (25-3-1, 9 KO’s): Duffy became the first four-time PPU champion in a single weight class when he regained the belt from Charles Kemmic (SD 15) the exact same way he lost the belt one year prior.

    LIGHTWEIGHTS, Jack McAuliffe (25-1, 19 KO’s): A year and eight months after being handed his first loss, McAuliffe is back to being the Lightweight kingpin after stopping George Lavigne (KO 6).

    FEATHERWEIGHTS, Young Griffo (21-4, 6 KO’s): In 1891, he won three fights by decision; a split decision win over St. John Tommy Kelly, then a majority verdict over Dal Hawkins, and most recently a unanimous win over former champ Cal McCarthy.

    BANTAMWEIGHTS, Nunc Wallace (24-3-1, 9 KO’s): Knocked out Tommy Kelly in just two rounds in Detroit in November to become a two-time champ.

    FLYWEIGHTS, Clancy Wallace* (20-5-4, 7 KO’s): Also a two-time champ, defeating Raul Cantu* for the crown out in California.



    FIGHTER OF THE YEAR: Bob Fitzsimmons (third time he’s won the award)

    CONTENDER OF THE YEAR: Jack “Nonpareil” Dempsey (4th time he’s won the award, #1 contender, 1-3 vs. Fitzsimmons)

    PROSPECT OF THE YEAR: Fred Morris (#6 contender for the middleweight crown)

    ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: Charles McCoy (7-0 in 1891 as a middleweight)

  • johndoe 10:11 am on January 27, 2013 Permalink | Reply
    Tags: 1887, Bob Fitzsimmons,   

    Fistic History: Notes From 1887 


    Bob Fitzsimmons, Fighter Of The Year for the 2nd straight time in 1887

    The year of 1887 has concluded in the PPU, and here are the current champions as 1888 dawned.

    Heavyweights: Peter Jackson (12-0, 3 defenses)
    Light Heavyweights: Joe Butler (12-0, 3 defenses)
    Middleweights: Bob Fitzsimmons (12-0, 3 defenses)
    Welterweights: Dick Sandall (13-1, 2 defenses)
    Lightweights: Jack McAuliffe (12-0, 3 defenses)
    Featherweights: George Seddons (11-3, defeated Dick Hollywood in Nov. 1887)
    Bantamweights: Nunc Wallace (13-1, defeated Nunc Wallace in Nov. 1887)
    Flyweights: Clancy Wallace* (10-2-2, defeated Raul Cantu* in Nov. 1887)

    The awards for 1887 went out to:

    Fighter Of The Year: Bob Fitzsimmons (12-0, middleweight champion, 2nd fighter of the year award)
    Contender Of The Year: “Nonpareil” Jack Dempsey (15-2, #1 middleweight contender, 2nd contender of the year award)
    Prospect Of The Year: Harris Martin (12-0, #2 middleweight contender)
    Rookie Of The Year: Tommy Ryan (6-0, welterweight)

Compose new post
Next post/Next comment
Previous post/Previous comment
Show/Hide comments
Go to top
Go to login
Show/Hide help
shift + esc